WordPress blog system in; Disqus seems less used

My Sandvox for Mac web design program has a feature of inserting the Disqus blog function into a web page.  I have placed the Disqus blog feature into my http://www.rencircles.org Blog section for more than a year; but I have never used it because I didn’t formally initiate a public blog before.  Before I started using WordPress this week, I had a question in mind: Should I use WordPress or Disqus to blog?  After a few days’ experience using WordPress, I tend to believe that WordPress is a better tool for me to blog.  I read an article titled “WordPress, Facebook, Disqus, Oh My! Which Comment System Should You Use?” by David Risley on this web page http://www.blogmarketingacademy.com/blog-comment-systems/.  David Risley seems to confirm my preference of WordPress.  I quote some of his points in the following.

I quote:

The Academy Turns Off Disqus

I’ve made some design changes to this site and one of them is to switch back to WordPress’s internal comment system. While Disqus has its fans – and its strengths – it seems like there was more support for WordPress. But, my decision obviously goes beyond merely an informal poll. WordPress has some noteworthy advantages over Disqus, including:

The ability to control the look and feel of the comments in a fine-tuned way.
The ability to run plug-ins which affect the comments. For example, I can easily set up a way to subscribe comments to my Aweber email list (with permission, of course) when they post a comment. Something like that is very handy and makes the comments a more effective lead generator.
Disqus seems to have no way of moderating comments via mobile device, outside of a third-party app which isn’t scaled up for iPad – and hasn’t been updated since 2010. On the flip side, WordPress has a free and pretty capable app for both iPhone and iPad which allows me to moderate and reply to comments on the go.
Being able to have TOTAL control over the look-and-feel rather than Disqus making the decision for me. For instance, I don’t want the “discovery box” that Disqus put there and I had no option to turn it off.
Speed. Running comments in-house is faster and increased page load times compared to loading up remote code for Disqus.

One response to “WordPress blog system in; Disqus seems less used

  1. Disqus seems to have no way of moderating feedback via cellular phone, outside of a third-party app which isn’t scaly up for iPad – and hasn’t been modified since 2010. On the other hand, WordPress has a 100 % free and fairly able app for both iPhone and iPad which allows me to average and response to feedback on the go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

